Business Performance

Safety Recognition

Recognizing employees for exemplary safety performance is important, especially in life-threatening circumstances. The Chairman’s Life Saving Award has been presented to 47 employees since the award’s inception in 2004. Receiving the award in 2012 were:

The John P. DesBarres Safety & Health Excellence Award recognizes both recent and sustained safety and health performance and takes into account innovative approaches that yield results.
  • Michael Walls, a meter electrician in Appalachian Power's Huntington (W.Va) District who alerted sleeping family members that their front porch was ablaze and extinguished the fire;
  • Mark Rickman, an AEP Texas service mechanic who roused a sleeping couple from their burning house; and,
  • Shreveport-based Southwestern Electric Power Company line crew members David Behrendt, Cody Teer, Chris Janz and Victor Verzal, who assisted a disabled motorist who was having a heart attack until paramedics arrived.

The fourth annual John P. DesBarres Safety and Health Excellence Award was presented in March 2013 to the Generation business unit. The award, named for a former AEP board member, is awarded to the AEP organization that best exemplifies the attributes of a sustained "zero harm" culture. Generation received the same honor two years ago.

Public Service Company of Oklahoma was honored for its exemplary performance during 2012 with the AEP Utilities Safety Performance Award and the AEP Utilities Operational Performance Award.

Closing Bell at the NYSE

AEP CEO Nick Akins was among a group of executives to ring the closing bell at the NYSE at the close of 2012 COMMIT!Forum in New York City.

Use of this site constitutes acceptance of the AEP Terms and Conditions. © 1996-2017 American Electric Power. All Rights Reserved.